Square of Cusco – Peru Inca Trail:
peru inca cusco with trailTambién called Aucaypata (in Quechua, ‘Warrior Square), is said to have been drawn by the Inca Manco Capac, founder of the empire. At the time of the Inca this square covered almost twice its current size and was divided by the river Huatanay (also called Torre Dorada). It is flanked by beautiful old stone archways on two levels, the imposing cathedral, the churches of Sacred Hearts and de Triomphe and the beautiful church of La Compañía. It has been the scene of many important events, including performances that sealed the fate of Peru. It was here that he died, publicly executed, include: Tupac Amaru I, the last rebel Incas of Vilcabamba, in 1572; Slate rival conquistador Diego de Almagro in 1538, like his son, Diego de Al¬magro “El Mozo”, in 1542; and Túpac Amaru II, precursor of the independence of America, 1781 – Peru.
San Blas Cusco
The most picturesque neighborhood of Cusco. Called “the neighborhood of artisans” and is home to the most popular artists in the region. Its narrow, steep streets where so interesting colonial buildings levan. They are of great interest its squares and streets (Quiscapata, Huaynapata, Canchipata, Carmen Alto, among others), as well as its many craft shops. The parish church, San Blas, has major works of colonial art.
Street Hatunrumiyoc Cusco
TWO BLOCKS FROM THE SQUARE BY TRIUMPH STREET, ROAD TO DISTRICT OF SAN BLAS
Retains an admirable stone wall construction was part of the palace, and then see, from panaca of Inca Roca, the sixth ruler of the empire. There is the famous stone of twelve angles (right side).
Square of Cusco Nazarene
licusco-tourssta peaceful square, surrounded by colonial buildings built on Inca foundations, was part of the old Yachaywasi (‘house of knowledge’). Its buildings include the novitiate and the former headquarters of the University of San Antonio Abad (now Hotel Monasterio) and, with them, the church of San Antonio Abad, built in s. XVII. Also stand the church and Beaterio of the Nazarenes.
Calle Loreto Cusco
PLAZA DE ARMAS, NEXT COMPANY
And spectacular carved walls, perhaps the largest and best preserved stone Cusco. To one side is the church of the Company and on the other, the walls of Amarukancha, panaca palace of Huayna Capac. The opposite side of the street has an interesting curved corner, which belonged to the walls of the old Acllawasi or ‘House of the Virgins of the Sun’.
The palace of Tupac Inca Yupanqui panaca (eleventh Inca, who would have ruled between 1471 and 1493). It is estimated that the current abarca¬ba Maruri streets, St. Augustine, St. Catherine and Arequipa. Long stretches its walls, admirably built, can be seen in the streets Maruri and St. Augustine.
On the slopes of Sacsayhuaman, are the remains of what would have been, according to tradition, the palace of Manco Capac, the first Inca. Actually, the whole presents constructions of different times. The outer wall of the palace Kolkampata has ten large niches, which hinted at possibly ten ayllu founders of the empire.
SQUARE OF CUSCO
It was built in 1560 and consecrated in 1668 Concluded Unlike most temples cusqueños almost was not damaged by the earthquake of 1650 As of Lima, Cusco Cathedral meets the characteristics of Gothic, Renaissance and Mannerist Baroque. Flanked by two solid towers, side covers are mannerist, and central discreetly Baroque.
Has splendid altars of both Renaissance and Baroque and Neoclassical. They are magnificent works of Cusco crafts its wooden pulpit Cathedral, carved choir stalls. An important collection of paintings from the Cusco School, with works by Diego Quispe Tito, Basilio Santa Cruz Pumacallo, Basilio Pacheco and Dizziness Zapata, creator of a singular Last dinner where the main course is roasted guinea pig. It has one of the richest treasures of colonial art jewelry, composed of a large custodial gold and precious stones, silver temple procession of Corpus Christi, the litter Silver Lord of the Earthquakes and Linda, lecterns , chandeliers and front, among other gems. This temple has its own chapel Lord of Tremors, Cusco pattern, whose image has more than 25 kilos of solid gold and many precious stones. Gospel tower hangs from 1659, the famous Maria Angola bell, considered the largest in South America.
Visits during worship: Mon-Sat 10 to 11:30 am and 14 to 17:30 h.
Church of Triumph
l’LAZA OF ARMS CUSCO
It is located to the right of the Cathedral. It was the first Spanish church Cusco and is named after the Spanish victory over the numerous hosts of rebel Manco Inca in 1536 and was built on the foundations of Sunturwasi (Round House), since in that Inca temple fled the conquerors besieged by the rebel Inca, surviving and winning in the counterattack, miraculously. Tradition has it that during that site, on a stormy night, down the virgin and the Apostle James to help the Spaniards. In gratitude for the assistance rendered by Providence, the Spanish leaders pledged to raise a temple in the place. It was rebuilt, acquiring its present form between 1729 and 1733 has a beautiful altar of hewn stone, a beautiful painting of the Cusco School evoking the descent of the Virgin, a painting depicting large destruction by an earthquake in Cusco 1650 and the “cross of conquest ‘call, which would have carried Slate founding the city. Visits during worship.
Church of the Sacred Heart and Holy Family
SQUARE OF CUSCO
It is located to the left of the Cathedral, has alta¬res beautiful, magnificent sculptures and silver front. The structure con-reserve part of the walls of the palace Kiswarkancha or Viracocha Inca. Visits during worship.
The Society of Jesus
SQUARE OF CUSCO
It is one of the outstanding monuments of Andean Baroque, built on Amarukancha, the palace of the Inca Huayna Capac panaca. Its location and opulence, which obscured the primacy of the Cathedral, led to serious disputes between the Jesuits and clergy Cusco. Its present form dates from 1668, a century before the expulsion of the order of the Peruvian viceroyalty. It has been believed for many years that the Jesuit order in the temple hid a treasure of eleven million ounces of gold. The church has a splendid array of gilded baroque altars, one of Jesus’ Ascension Diego de la Puente (s. Seventeenth), paintings of the Cusco artist Marcos Zapata and magnificent sculptures Jesuit saints (including the Cristo de Burgos, lifelike ) and a famous painting done in the s. XVII depicting the marriage of Beatriz Clara Coya, a direct descendant of Inca rulers and the Spanish Captain Martín García de Loyola, sobri¬no grandson of San Ignacio de Loyola. Visits during worship.
STREET BLANKETS s / N NEAR THE PLAZA DE ARMAS
Their covers are even Mannerist and contrast with the lush baroque bell tower. It has an important plateresca choir stalls and oil paintings of great interest, such as Laureano de San Basilio Santa Cruz Pumacallo (s. Seventeenth). In it are buried the remains of the two Diego de Almagro, the Elder (1538) and Porter (1542). His first cloister is considered one of the finest examples of Spanish religious architecture in South America. It has a beautiful mural detailing the life of San Pedro Nolasco, founder of the Order of Mercedarias; and oil paintings by Bernardo Bitti (s XVI.) and Ignacio Chacón (s XVII.); magnificent carvings and splendid custody of gold, silver and precious stones, also decorated by a famous mermaid shaped pearl.
Visits (church): Mon-Sun during worship (from 7-9 h) and from 17 to 19:30 h.
Visits (convent): Mon-Sat 8 to 12 h 14 to 17 h.
AV. SUN S / N, SANTO DOMINGO PLAZOLETA
Dominican church and convent was built on the structure of Koricancha (‘gold room’), the major Inca temple dedicated to the Sun and whose walls, according to the chroniclers, were plated with sheets of gold. Chroniclers assert that existed in the Inca temple precincts dedicated to the worship of the moon, thunder, rainbows and the deities of the conquered people by the empire. In 1534, just founded the Spanish city and when I first began to build the temple, the conquistador Francisco Pizarro deposited here the banner of Charles V or “ensign of conquest”, which was kept in a prime location until 1824 The cover of the church is a splendid specimen of the Renaissance, while its tower, similar to that of the church of La Merced, which is Baroque. The apse is erected on a great circle belonging to Kori¬kancha wall. It has an important series of paintings on the life of St. Dominic.
Views: Mon-Sat 8 to 17:30 h.
SANTA CATALINA NARROW s / N
Founded in 1605, the church and the monastery had to rebuild itself after the earthquake of 1650 The church altars beautiful baroque treasures and superb pulpit. The altars were the work of teachers and Diego Oquendo Pedro Martínez de Oviedo (both s. Seventeenth). His oil paintings are signed by Juan Espinoza de los Monteros and Lorenzo Sanchez de Medina in the second third of the s. XVII. Anonymous series is outstanding, the style of Zurbaran, martyrs and saints Latinos, the second half of that century. The monastery was built on faith the walls of Acllawasi or ‘House of the Virgins of the Sun’ of the Incas. Are admirable pieces of jewelry that preserves. Besides having an amazing museum, religious delicious sweets made of bread dough and almonds.
Visits during worship.
PLAZOLETA SAN BLAS
The greatest treasure of this church is its large collection of paintings, its magnificent high altar and special-mind, his famous baroque pulpit, made of a single piece of cedar and considered the finest example of wood carving made in colonial America. This work dates from the last third of the s. XVII and is credited to Juan Tomás Tupac Tuyru. Views: Mon-Sat 14 to 17:30 h.
PLAZA DE SAN FRANCISCO s / N
It was built by order of Viceroy Francisco de Toledo in 1572, though it must be restored after the earthquake of 1650 Its plant has a Latin cross, has three naves and a high square tower. The façade facing the square is Renaissance. Treasure one of the most celebrated choir stalls of Latin America, for its magnificent reliefs. The monastery withstood the earthquake of 1650, which is a magnificent example of architecture of s. XVI, whose ship, plateresco character, has been embellished with Seville tiles. It has paintings of the greatest painters of s. seventeenth Diego Quispe Tito, Marcos Zapata, Basilio Santa Cruz Pumacallao, Juan Espinoza de los Monteros and Antonio Sinchiroca.
Visits during worship.
FACING THE MARKET
Its present building dates from 1688 was designed by architect and sculptor Juan Tomás Tuyru indigenous Tupac. It has two towers and Renaissance facade and plant has a Latin cross. It has a nave high vaults and six side chapels. Are its magnificent baroque altar frontal, racks and silver tabernacle, and his pulpit. It has an important collection of paintings.
Visits during worship.
SLOPES OF SACSAYHUAMAN
It was built in the early years of the conquest by the Indian chief Christopher Paullu, lord of Kolkampata, as a sign of their devotion to Christianity. The statue of the patron saint is gigantic and is paraded in a procession on the feast of Corpus Christi. It is located next to the palace of Inca Kolkampata. Adjacent to the site is the famous house that belonged to Lope de Aguirre and out later residence of Simon Bolivar passing through Cusco.
Visits during worship.
Other: Belén de Los Reyes, Santa Teresa and Santa Clara.
Museums and historic houses of Cusco – Peru
Archbishop’s Palace and Museum of Religious Art
ESQ. Hatunrumiyoc STREET AND HARDWARE
This house was built taking advantage of walls and foundations Hatunrumiyoc, which was the palace of Inca Roca panaca. It belonged to the Marquis de San Juan de Buenavista. It has a magnificent chapel with gilded baroque altarpiece. Exhibits an important collection of paintings from the Cusco sixteenth to eighteenth centuries. In its main wall (street Hatunrumiyoc), is the famous Inca stone of twelve angles.
Views: Mon-Sat 8 to 11: 30 pm and from 15 to 17:30 h.
Casa Garcilaso de la Vega or Regional Historical Museum
ESQ. REFRIGERATOR AND GARCILASO
It was built on the foundations of the palace of Huascar. It belonged to Captain Sebastián Garcilaso de la Vega, father of the chronicler Garcilaso de la Vega, who in his Royal Commentaries of the Incas (1609) refers to the days of his childhood there. He has extensive teaching and collection of pre-Columbian and colonial art. Views: Mon-Sat from 7 to 18:30 h.
Museo de Santa Catalina
SANTA CATALINA NARROW S4i
It has a splendid collection of Baroque altarpieces, paintings of the Cusco School (including pictures of Diego Quispe Tito, Juan Espinoza de los Monteros and Lorenzo Sanchez Medina), regional colonial tapestries and a rich collection of jewelry. Views: Mon-Thurs and Sat, 9 to 17:30 h; Vi of 9-15 h.
THE PLAZA 231 NAZARENAS
This old house, home of the founder of the cities of read, on the Peruvian coast, and Cordoba in Argentina, is currently based Continental Bank. It exhibits a permanent collection of beautiful Cusco photographer Martin Chambi talented (1891- 1973), as well as traveling exhibitions.
Views: Mon-Fri 8 to 17:30 h; Sá of 10-12 h and 15-17 h.
Palacio del Almirante, or Inca Museum
COST OF ADMIRAL I53
One of the most notable cusqueñas colonial houses. The Inca stonework using edi¬ficó lieutenant corregidor Francisco Aldrete Maldonado, called the Admiral, at the beginning of s. XVII. It shows coat of arms of their rebuilders, who added plateresca attractive cover that looks today as well as its large courtyard arcades and paneled rooms. It brings together a vast collection of keros (carved wooden ceremonial vessels), textiles, mummies, and idols of gold and solid silver, as well as weapons, tools and Inca pottery.
Views: Mon-Fri from 8-17 pm Sat 8:30 to 12:30.
House of Serpents
THE PLAZA 231 NAZARENAS
Its name honors the many snakes carved into its stone façade. It is a good example of transitional architecture, created by Inca builders under the colonial yoke. Originally belonged to the conqueror that solar Command Sierra de Leguizamo, famous for losing the huge golden disk Koricancha a dice game in the mis¬ma night he was handed.
Casa del Marqués de Valleumbroso
A fine example of the blend of Spanish and Inca architecture. It has a magnificent carved stone portal with columns and a large patio or inside hallway. Today the building houses the School of Fine Arts Cusco.
SANTA CATALINA WIDE
Notable for its picturesque balconies, was the residence of José de Santiago Concha remarkable aristocrat during the early days of the conquest. One of his descendants, Pius Martin Concha, was the last Spanish governor of Cusco in the nineteenth century. Today, the building belongs to the University of Cusco.
Casa de los Pumas (Santa Teresa 385), Diego de Silva House (Seven Cuartones s / n), Casa de los Condes de Peralta (Santa Teresa s / n), Casa de los Austrias (Santa Catalina Ancha), among others.